On Wednesday, February 15, 2017, Orlando Remembered, Inc., met at the Orange County Regional History Center, 65 E. Central Blvd., Orlando FL. Meeting was called to order at 9 a.m., followed by the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag of the United States of America. Attending were:

Claude Wolfe, President
Vic Ratliff, Vice President
Grace Chewning, Secretary/Treas.
Joe Baker
Heather Bonds
Whitney Broadaway
Texann Buck
John Camichos
Shirley Cannon
Charlie Gray
Ron Jaffe
Bill Leach
Mark Line
John Olin
Gail Padgett
Bunny Parish
Tana Porter
Jane Tracy
Bob Woodbery
Father Nelson Pinder

1. PRESENTATION: Special Guest Speaker, The Reverend Canon Nelson Wardell Pinder [recipient of the 2015 Donald A. Cheney Award], addressed the group with an in-depth commentary on how Orlando remained relatively calm in the center of civil rights tensions experienced elsewhere in the Nation during the 1960s, which he credited to extra-ordinary efforts by City officials and citizenry, citing specific examples of how people worked together to accomplish peaceful integration in “The City Beautiful.”

2. MINUTES – The January 18 minutes were approved as written on motion of V. Ratliff, seconded by B. Leach and vote carried.

3. TREASURER’S REPORT: $26,387 as of 1-31.

4. ON-GOING ACTIVITIES: () Reminder that the 2017 “John Young History Makers” event is April 5 at the Church Street Ballroom honoring Pat Williams [present] and Dr. Wells [past]. () Referring to March 2nd “What’s Up Downtown” Historic Walking Tour, Mark Line noted that several members will appear in “character” at various stops along the route.

5. ANNOUNCEMENTS/GOOD OF THE ORDER: ☺ Get-Well Wishes to Emmett O’Dell who is undergoing surgery today on his arm! ☺ Loving thoughts to Bob Serros for continued improvement and return to OR!

6. ORLANDOANS REMEMBERED: People whose lives were so important to so many, who helped make Orlando a great City and whose passing represents a significant loss to our community: David Wash Foley, Sr.; Barbara Ann Stone Roth; Jane McNerney Staly; John Richard “Jack” Shirek; Edwin “Ed” Desso Creech; Mary Jean Moore Riddle; William “Bill” Hayes Barnes; Chester Walker Bankston, Jr.; Robert Leon Becton; Faye Cleveland Ankney; James “Jim” Blair Thomas.

7. ADJOURNMENT: There being no further business, meeting was adjourned at 10:30 a.m. Next OR gathering is March 15th, 9 a.m., at the History Center.

Grace Ann Chewning, Secretary-Treasurer

Orlando Remembered, Inc., Loves “The City Beautiful!”

Leave a comment

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *