Established in 1982 to preserve the memories of Orlando’s vanishing landmarks and the contributions of Orlandoans, past and present. Click and move the slider left to right to see the iconic “Rogers Building” in the early 1900s versus how it appears today.
The Rogers Building – 1886
THEN – The “(Gordon) Rogers Building” served as the “English Club” hosting British nationals who were investing heavily in Florida citrus groves and cattle at the time. Built of cypress in the Queen Anne revival style and painted a neutral shade of beige, its stucco exterior served to make it less flammable. A fire, which started in a nearby building just two years earlier destroyed many of downtown Orlando’s wooden structures resulting in wooden exterior buildings being prohibited.
Following the freezes in 1894 and 1895, much of Florida’s citrus industry was wiped out resulting in many of the British citizens giving up and returning home. Before leaving, Rogers renovated the building in 1910, covering the stucco walls with the imported pressed zinc plates that you see today.
Over the years, the building saw many renovations and hosted countless businesses from churches to restaurants, office furniture merchants to beauty shops, dance studios, unions, a school of commerce, and even the South Florida Sentinel, an early ancestor of today’s Orlando Sentinel. In 1999, Ford Kiene bought the building, restored its heart-of-pine flooring and gave it its current exterior color scheme of forest green with red rust accents. *
NOW – Located at the northeast corner of Pine Street and Magnolia in the heart of downtown Orlando, the Rogers Building currently houses an art gallery which hosts shows on a regular basis.
* “The History of the Rogers Building”, Orlando Style Magazine, Alexandra Mariano, February 2016
Where our website visitors are from: